These Are a few of My Favorite Things

Favorite things. Everyone has something they truly adore, or at least a high regard for. The things we like and find most of our enjoyment in make us who are as a person. If we didn’t have an infatuated admiration for something, wouldn’t that make us less human?  To prove that I am “human”, I’m going to inform the reader on what gives me the greatest joy.

 

An interest I’ve had since I was about seven maybe a little older is, musical theater. This obsession came over me when I would act at a local theater. Basically I grew up there, considering how long and how much time I spent there. I did productions there for seven, or eight years. I became a mentor to the younger kids, and was part of an elite group made up of 10 or so others. I couldn’t come to do anymore shows there, because school got in the way. Freshman year I stopped, due to my busy schedule. I’m not going to lie, I do miss it dearly, but it was something I had to do for my own sake. Every now and then I go to see professional plays which are always fun. Every time I go, I ponder what could have been, but I know my decision was for a better reason.

Woman, Outdoors, Mountains, Hiking, Autumn, Fall

Because my of my love for musical theater, music is a huge part of my life. In other words its part of me. I’m very particular about what I listen to, don’t know why that’s just how I am. I loathe the radio. Plain and simple. Its just not my cup of tea, and I like tea. Most of the artists I listen to people have heard of, they just don’t have tons of airplay like Taylor Swift, or whatever A-list musician with a catchy beat and adoring fooled fans. Lana Del Rey, Passenger, and Bastille are just a few I listen to constantly. I practically live in my ear buds and drown out reality. Life is just better with the volume turned up.

Nature. Its something I have a true affection for. The fact that is something that isn’t man made fascinates me. Every time I get to go to a national park or reserve, I treat it with respect and as a privilege. When I go to Mammoth with my family, my dad, brother-in-law, and I wake up at like three or four in the morning to save our fishing spot. The best part of it is watching the sun rise, watching the space around you go from total darkness and it goes to a slow gradual stretch of light over the mountains tops. Looking at the tree silhouettes before it gets light out, and trying to picture what they look like with the sun rays hitting them. Hearing the wind whistle its same old tune. I could never get tired of the view, because it never loses its essence or beauty.

I don’t have some clever or witty closing but I will say this. Why do we cherish our favorite things so much? Is it because we only have a lifetime to do so, and because were going to miss them when they’re no longer in reach to us. These things do make us who we are as an individual, and I know that sounds super cliché, but every bit of it is true. My advice is to keep obsessing for as long as you can, whatever brings you the most blissful feelings.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment